Ohtani Gets Pitch Clock Violation on the Mound, at the Plate

. Ohtani became the first player to be called for violating the new rule at both pitcher and batter in the same game.

SEATTLE, WA (AP) - Shohei Ohtani, the Los Angeles Angels two-way superstar who made major league history on Wednesday, was penalized for pitch clock violations at both the mound and the plate.

Ohtani, who was working against Cal Raleigh in the top of first inning against the Seattle Mariners when he started the game against them, was charged with a violation. Phil Nevin, the Angels manager, said that Ohtani's right-hander did not intend to break the new rule this season when he intentionally threw a pitch ahead of Raleigh.

Nevin stated that some pitchers were quick-pitching hitters when the rule was first implemented. "(Max) Scherzer was caught doing it during spring training and they are just trying to avoid that. Shohei is not trying to do this. It's only that his set-up is different from most, and I was explaining to Pat (Hoberg), the umpire, what he did.

Nevin told the group that Hoberg had explained that, while the pitcher could throw at any time once the clock reached the final eight seconds, the batter must signal his readiness in the box before the pitcher can do so.

Ohtani received a second flag in the top of sixth inning before his at bat against Mariners relief pitcher Matt Brash. The players have 30 seconds between batters to resume play.

The World Baseball Classic MVP, who led Japan to victory in the tournament, was the first to be penalized for clock violations both as a pitcher or hitter. He said that he understood the rules.

Ohtani explained, "I spoke with the umpires following the game and that cleared up the situation." "I know what to do and how to adjust. It should be fine.

Ohtani scored a run and earned his first victory of the season in the Angels 4-3 win.